Stored in His Flask

heartLittle did I know, when I sat down to do ‘Reading Hour’ for our residents, that I would need my hankie!

I had pulled a book out, at random, from my supply which Sr. Jean Louise had lent me from their school library.

It happened to be a story about a girl in Hiroshima suffering from after-effects of the atomic bomb.  The little book, based on a true story, followed a young girl’s journey as she lost the battle with leukemia.  How sad!!!

I might need to have a word with Sr. Jean Louise about the kind of books she lends me.

I had to stop reading twice as I was reading to our residents, fighting back tears.  It was a bit humiliating, but good for cleaning out the sinuses and tear ducts.  I don’t know when the latter were last used so much!

It was interesting to see how often tears are referenced in the Bible.  Actually, we are told that our tears are stored in God’s flask and recorded in His book (Psalm 56).

It is beautiful to note that our sorrows are not unnoticed by our Lord.  I recall another verse which has been used in connection with the Passion: “Surely, he has borne our infirmities and carried our sorrows.” (Isa. 53)

Although the tears shed today were not borne of deep personal loss, I am most grateful that I have a Friend who supports me in all my griefs, big or small.

Sr. Christina M. Neumann, OSF

If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it on your social media outlets, using the buttons below.

One thought on “Stored in His Flask

Leave a comment