On a Busy Palm Saturday, Why Bother?

P3090035After a busy day, working at the front desk, reading to our residents, serving snacks, and setting up in Chapel for tomorrow’s Palm Sunday, I trudged the ten blocks to St. Michael’s Church.  The roads weren’t exactly clean and easy to traverse; last night’s snow fall had not helped.

I had left behind one of our residents who was busy taking the extra strings off the palms to clean them up for the morning.  She thrives on keeping busy, and this was a good job for her.

I arrived in the Church two minutes ahead of the scheduled time for Saturday afternoon confessions, only to find a long line ahead of me.

Pressed for time and a bit anxious about circumstances back home, I almost turned around and headed out of the Church.  Why bother going to Confession again?  It hadn’t been that long.

These temptations to be a runaway sinner, however, did not last long; I knew better!

I knew I wanted to say I was sorry for the things I had done again that were not in keeping with my call as a Christian.  I knew I wanted to ask for and receive God’s forgiveness.  I knew I wanted added grace, a new start.

Furthermore, I had trudged TOO far in less-than-ideal walking conditions to turn around and go back without getting what I had come for.

Although I had to wait a good half an hour, with greater or lesser patience, I’m glad I did.

I returned to St. Anne’s, and all was well.  I was on time for my other duties…The palms had all been cleaned, and I had gotten cleaned, too!

Exept for a few minor details, it seems that all is ready for the beginning of Holy Week.

2 thoughts on “On a Busy Palm Saturday, Why Bother?

  1. Bless you, Sr. Christina. I experienced similar inner conflicts last week. I had received the Sacrament of Reconciliation in Bismarck when the relics of St. Padre Pio were there for veneration. That was AWESOME. Last week was Reconciliation service at Little Flower. Less than two weeks… but, like you, there was more to confess – AND I most certainly NEEDED the grace.

    Thank you for listening to God’s still small voice and obeying. And for sharing…

    Like

Leave a comment