Dignity of Women

aaWhen I had just finished college, I was a volunteer publicity assistant for our parish’s Council of Catholic Women.

One major undertaking I had in this role was creating a newsletter for the group, which we called Mulieris Dignitatem (Dignity of Women), drawing its name from JPII’s document on “the Dignity and Vocation of Women.”  It featured recent undertakings and events from the group’s members.

Now, years later, having started a group for area Catholic women to support each other in our faith, I find my mind drifting back to this important concept, so totally misunderstood in modern society.

As I try to figure out who will speak at next month’s gathering and what the topic will be, I am drawn to the possibility of a brief reflection on our call and dignity of women within the Church.  (I say “brief” because the speaker only has about 25 minutes allotted.)

Unfortunately, during the past several decades, with the laudable pursuit of respect and equality, a lot of women have become confused about what it means to be a woman, about what our wonderful, God-given role is, after all.

I think that preparations for upcoming meetings may be a good refresher course for me, personally, about the dignity and vocation each of us has as a woman within the Church.

In closing this little post, I find it fitting that our monthly gathering, entitled “Magnificat Morning” points to Mary, even in its name.

Who, better than she, can show us what it is like to be a woman of faith?

Mary, who first brought Christ to the world, can be a model to us, helping us to bring Him to those we meet each day.

Note: If you’ve enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it on your social media outlets using the buttons below.

One thought on “Dignity of Women

  1. Yes, what a beautiful document by John Paul II. Worth the read. We women need to know our vocation and dignity in the church. We are not called to be priest but called to pray for them and the Church. God is so good, and a God of order.
    “If we are who we are called to be, we would set the world on fire! -St. Catherine of Siena

    Like

Leave a comment