“Sauer Likes Her Sweets”

Resized_20161020_131437.jpegSince first coming to community, I’ve always felt a special connection to and fondness for our dear Sister Carmelita Sauer.  Her kindness and sense of humor would make it difficult not to.

This Pentecost Sunday, though, I got some sad news; our dear Sister has died.

Although I haven’t lived in the same convent as her for several years now, I know I will miss her.  On visits down to our Provincial house in Hankinson, it was nice to stop in and visit her again, even if her health had declined.

When I think of Sr. Carmelita, one thing apt to come to mind is a favorite saying of hers.  When taking dessert (or being offering something with a high glucose content), she would say “Sauer likes her sweets,” or some similar words, indicating that, despite the connotations of her surname, she was not apposed to sugar intake.  I guess I can’t blame her.

Please join me in praying that our dear Sister. Carmelita may soon be enjoying the sweetness of heaven.

If you’ve enjoyed this post, please share it on your social media outlets using the buttons below.

5 thoughts on ““Sauer Likes Her Sweets”

  1. Sister Carmelita sounds like a gem. I’m sure it was easy to love her. We can learn so much about how to handle life’s many problems from someone like her. May she Rest In Peace!

    Like

  2. I was always so happy to see Great-Aunt Sister Carmelita. And I’m so very glad that my children were able to meet her. They truly brought each other joy. Rest In Peace, now. You are home.

    Like

Leave a comment