Come, Holy Spirit!

pentecostWe have a handy-dandy “cheat sheet” inside one of the shelving cabinets in the back of our chapel, advising us as to when we start those preparatory novenas which we are to pray prior to certain feastdays.

One of these is for Pentecost.  (Others include: St. Francis, Immaculate Conception, and St. Joseph).

Sr. Rebecca may have glanced at this little list; I am not sure, but recently, she reminded me that we start the one in preparation for Pentecost tonight.  This is a very good practice; I am glad we do it.  This intensifies the practice I like to have, throughout the year, of calling upon the Holy Spirit.

At some moments, I make a special effort to do so.  One example is when I sit down to write one of these posts.

There is no wrong time to invoke the Holy Spirit’s help.

I found myself doing so this afternoon when I was asked, unexpectedly, to give a tour to family members looking for a place for their mother.

I was totally unprepared and caught a bit off-guard.  I invoked the Holy Spirit!  Things seemed to go alright, despite the fact that I did not have the right key to show one of the rooms (a few rooms are on a special lock system since they were added later.)

I am so grateful for Jesus’ promise, which we hear in these days leading up to Pentecost.  It is so wonderful to have the gift of the Holy Spirit to guide and strengthen us in our daily lives, whether it be in giving a tour, writing something, planning my day, or even interacting with residents.

I invite you to join us in a more intensive prayer to the Holy Spirit during these holy days as we near the end of the Easter season.

Leave a comment