I Had a Talk with Julie

Picture1Here at St. Anne’s, making arrangements for train travel is not unheard of.  For some, including myself, driving a car to the desired destination is not an option.  (My vision does not allow for this.)

Just recently, in fact, a kindhearted co-worker provided a ride to and from the train for one of our residents when he was visiting his family for Easter.

Because of these occasional travels, we have become well-acquainted with Julie, Amtrak’s automated ticket agent, who responds to those calling 1-800-USA-RAIL.   In fact, one of my fellow receptionists and I like to mimic poor Julie’s corny greeting: “Hi, I’m Julie – Amtrak’s automated ticket agent.”  I love to put on my best nasal voice for the occasion.

She really isn’t as nasal as I make her out to be, and is really quite pleasant.  It does help if you know how to talk her language.  For example, to speak with a real person, I’ve learned to just say “agent” right away.  To this, she’ll respond: “I think you said you want to speak with an agent…”

This afternoon, I informed this co-worker that I’d had a talk with Julie again today.  I would soon be taking the train home to St. Paul.

 * * *

Sometimes, travel plans are made far in advance, while others can be more ‘spur of the moment.”  This upcoming trip fits more in the latter category.  I just found out this morning that I could get a ride back with someone I know.

Despite the struggles I often have in finding transportation, things seem to be falling into place nicely for me; for this I am very grateful.

I pray and trust that the leading scripture verse listed in reference to travelling will be true for me on this upcoming journey:  For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways. (Psalm 91:11)

One thought on “I Had a Talk with Julie

Leave a comment