“That Looks Like a Chicken”

IMG_2207.JPGI know chicken isn’t really a profound or inspirational topic, but we don’t have to be profound and inspirational all the time, do we?

Last evening, our dietary staff served chicken strips, along with other menu items such as apple rings and peas.

I had a little extra time since the other Sisters were still out of town and I was on my own schedule over the supper hour.

Thus it was that I gave in to my urge, or inspiration, to share my “chicken joke” again.

I had showed it several years ago here in the dining room as a diversion during a tornado warning, but now there was a somewhat new audience; several residents have come and gone since that time.

I first learned “the chicken joke,” which my dad does not encourage, about twenty years ago at a graduation open house for the son of one of my mom’s friend.  Since that time I have embellished it.  I now can offer the bare bones, basic version or the embellished, extended, dramatic version in which I tell of my friend Ed, the farmer, sharing a bit of his life’s story and recounting the tragic death of his beloved pet chicken, Beatrice whose special attentions roused the envy of Ed’s wife!  (I have quite the imagination, I guess.)

Last night, I kept things a bit simpler for our residents, some of whom have auditory challenges.

I walked into the dining room but they were still serving a few people.  I had a little time to kill before I could go through the line.  So, back to our conference room I went to get a hand towel (which I was ready to send out to the laundry, anyway).  I proceeded to tell the “chicken joke” in which I mysteriously transform a hand towel into the figure of a butchered chicken.

The residents enjoyed the little story and demonstration; in fact, I had to do it two or three times to allow for others who were interested to see what they had missed.

When I had finished producing my second or third hen, one of our residents observed from his table: “That looks like a chicken!”

I’m glad he thought so!

Anyone wishing detailed instructions on how this art is accomplished is welcome to call or email me for a tutorial in poultry procedures.

Leave a comment