Should I Be Wearing White?

1965Having lived at our provincial house for a time (where one of our Sisters wore white), and being familiar with our directives, I knew that there was an option for our Sisters to wear all white rather than black and white as I am accustomed to now.

However, the reality of this being done never hit me before like it did this past week.

I have been going through old photo albums and scanning in pictures to make a video for our 65th anniversary celebration at St. Anne’s.

One of my  co-workers noticed, in the old pictures, that some Sisters were wearing black and others white.  She asked me why that was.  I told her that Sisters who engaged in certain works may wear white.

I wasn’t sure which apostolates traditionally called for this apparel, and discussed it with Sr. Elaine, who was around “back in the day.”  I was informed that those Sisters in dietary even wore white, along with the nurses and care aides.

I find this history so interesting.  This photo project, although it is a lot of work, is fascinating and informative as well.

This discussion made me think to myself: Should I be wearing white?  

I do a fair amount of aide duties and dietary-related work.  (Maybe, I should have hung on to my white veil from novitiate!)

If I were living back in the early days of St. Anne’s, would I be one of the “white” Sisters?

Sr. Christina M. Neumann, OSF

Note: If you’ve enjoyed what you read here, please feel free to share it on your social media outlets, using the buttons below.

One thought on “Should I Be Wearing White?

  1. “Should I be wearing white?” you ask?
    I’ve seen Sister Christina running from one activity to another (many of them messy!) and the thought of you wearing white set me to a fit of giggles! I can imagine all the spots you’d have to treat at the end of each day! You may like the idea of wearing white (it does sound very quaint and angelic!), but I have a feeling your Habit wouldn’t remain white for long! LOL (WARNING: These comments are spoken purely out of love and jest, and in no way reflect an opinion of scorn toward the aforementioned person.)

    Like

Leave a comment