A prayer worth praying

I just finished with Jesus: Our Eucharistic Love, a book from the convent library in Hankinson, by Father Stefano Manelli.  Along with numerous quotes from saints to inspire the reader to greater devotion to Our Lord’s Eucharistic presence, I found this prayer by St. Alphonsus Ligouri.  I thought it was beautiful and wanted to share it:

My LORD Jesus Christ, Who because of Your love for men remain night and day in the Blessed Sacrament, full of pity and of love, awaiting, calling and welcoming all who come to visit You, I believe that You are present here on the altar. I adore You, and I thank You for all the graces You have bestowed on me, especially for having given me Yourself in this Sacrament, for having given me Your most holy Mother Mary to plead for me, and for having called me to visit You in this church.

I now salute Your most loving Heart, and that for three ends: first, in thanksgiving for this great gift; secondly, to make amends to You for all the outrages committed against You in this Sacrament by Your enemies; thirdly, I intend by this visit to adore You in all the places on earth in which You are present in the Blessed Sacrament and in which You are least honored and most abandoned.

My Jesus, I love You with my whole heart. I am very sorry for having so many times offended Your infinite goodness. With the help of Your grace, I purpose never to offend You again. And now, unworthy though I am, I consecrate myself to You without reserve. I renounce and give entirely to You my will, my affection, my desires and all that I possess. For the future, dispose of me and all I have as You please.

All I ask of You is Your holy love, final perseverance and that I may carry out Your will perfectly. I recommend to You the souls in Purgatory, especially those who had the greatest devotion to the Blessed Sacrament and to the Blessed Virgin Mary. I also recommend to You all poor sinners.

Finally, my dear Savior, I unite all my desires with the desires of Your most loving Heart; and I offer them, thus united, to the Eternal Father, and beseech Him, in Your name and for love of You, to accept and grant them.

I found this to be a extraordinarily beautiful prayer that would be worth returning to again and again.  How good and right it is to show our love for the Blessed Sacrament as St. Alphonsus did.

The Catechism of the Catholic Church, quoting Vatican II’s Lumen Gentium (11), calls the Eucharist the “source and summit of the Christian life.”  I believe we can very rightly call It likewise (or in extension) “the source and summit” of our consecrated life as well.

For actually, the Eucharist is not an “it” but a “Whom.”  And, who, after all, did we come to give ourselves to when we entered religious life?  Who whispered an invitation of love in our ears, saying, “Come, follow me.”?   If I may speak from my personal experience, I first experienced this “invitation of love” during a time with Jesus in our parish’s Eucharistic Adoration Chapel.

May the heart of Jesus, in the Most Blessed Sacrament, be praised, adored, and loved with grateful affection, at every moment, in all the tabernacles of the world, even to the end of time. Amen.  (From the Divine Praises)

Sr. Christina M. Neumann

3 thoughts on “A prayer worth praying

  1. This is a beautiful prayer and I will take it with me during adoration at St Anne and Joachim. It brought a lump to my throat and an ache in my heart. I hope to serve Him better and love Him more deeply.
    Lisa

    Like

  2. “How good and right it is to show our love for the Blessed Sacrament” indeed! The best time spent in the whole world is here with our Lord. We’ve had perpetual Adoration at our church for 25+ years, the graces keep flowing from there. Even just to come and sit and allow Him “to look at you and you at Him”… words are not enough to express my gratitude for this huge blessings and honor. This prayer is a beautiful opener, thank you for sharing it with us.

    Like

Leave a comment