Good and Busy

This morning, I got up and headed over to St. Anne’s before 5:30 a.m.  I had been planning to set up what I could in advance for 9 a.m. Mass and have a chance to pray before coming to the front desk by 6:45 or so.  I was scheduled to work the reception desk then until 7:45 a.m., at which time we were heading off for Hankinson.

Meeting one of the night aides on my way to chapel, I was informed that one of the men’s floor aides had called in sick.  Boy, did that through a monkey wrench in my day!

Instead of praying after doing the sacristy work, I rushed up to the men’s floor with the clean laundry cart…If I was to help out the other aide and still get to the desk and be able to go down for our community gathering in Hankinson, I had better get a head start!  (I did finish up my prayer while on duty at the front desk late this evening (not the ideal, but it could hardly be helped.)

I was able to get people up and even help with a bit of cleaning before returning to the front desk, grabbing breakfast, working a bit and heading off on our mini-road trip.

This wasn’t just any “mini-road trip;” this one was quite special.  We went to attend the Mass at which our new provincial administration took office.

We were even able to stick around for dinner and visiting with our sisters.  It was very nice.  I even got to go shopping :), picking out some blouses and a jumper which had belonged to other sisters.

We got back here to Grand Forks on time for me to take over at the reception desk and do my p.m. aide duty.  Now, I am finishing out the evening, working at the front desk until ten.

Despite the hectic schedule, this truly has been a blessed day.  I guess it could best be described as “good and busy.”

Leave a comment