Do I Still Have to Sleep in the Cupboard?

chip5Last night, after a very busy few days, we got in the car to attend the Easter Vigil at the local parish (We were unable to have a Vigil here at St. Anne’s).

Three hours later, when the rich, beautiful liturgy was over, it was after 11 p.m.  I had struggled with fatigue throughout the celebration.  Too bad I hadn’t had time for a nap beforehand!

Between setting up and helping with Triduum liturgies in our own chapel, working the reception desk, making hot cross buns, and doing special annual cleaning, I was feeling a bit worn out before the Mass was even close to being over.  It was a beautiful experience, nonetheless.

With that being said, you probably think I rushed home and jumped into bed, right?  Actually, that’s not quite how it went.  I had one detail to attend to in our own chapel before letting my eyelids close.

Our tabernacle was still empty and the Blessed Sacrament was still securely locked away in another place, in a cupboard, no less!  (As you may know, the Blessed Sacrament is traditionally reserved in another place during these special days.)

As I waited for Mass to begin, I must have been considering this…

Do you remember Chip from Disney’s 1991 movie, Beauty and the Beast?   Words from this cute little guy (the boy-turned-into-a-tea-cup who returned to human form when the spell was broken) came to mind for me.

At the end of the movie, he asked his mother: “Do I still have to sleep in the cupboard?”  Now that we had reached the celebration of the Resurrection, I imagined Jesus saying these words.  I’m silly, I know.

The answer to that question was “No.”

Around 11:23 p.m., having returned to St. Anne’s, I took the Blessed Sacrament and the sanctuary lamp back out to the main chapel.

Jesus was back home and wouldn’t need to sleep in the cupboard again until this time next year.

 

Leave a comment