“And These, Thy Gifts”

IMG_20171220_124851This morning, to open our weekly Bible study, I asked one of our residents to lead us in a prayer.

Accidentally, she began: “Bless us, O Lord…”

Mistakes, happen; I know all to well!

Rather than correct and stop her, I just “went with it,” and we all finished the prayer together.

I figured that a prayer asking for blessing and recalling God’s gifts was appropriate any time.  In fact, God’s word, the Scripture, which we were about to read and discuss, is a very great gift, indeed.

As we began Bible study, this prayer truly was fitting; we were about to receive the gift of God’s word, given to us from His bounty and goodness, “through Christ, our Lord.”

What a beautiful prayer it was to begin our Bible study.

When we had finished, as the residents were leaving, lunchtime was just around the corner.

So, I prayed this traditional meal prayer a second time with one or two who were remaining, this time gratefully asking a blessing upon our physical food which we were “about to receive.”

2 thoughts on ““And These, Thy Gifts”

  1. I have done this very thing, and my kids have giggled at my mistake. Now I can remind them it’s appropriate any time. We are always receiving God’s gift, since each moment of life is that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lovely prayer before studying the holy Word of God! So sweet! Didn’t Jesus say that we don’t “live by bread alone, but on every utterance of the Word of God”?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment