Crown Him with Many Crowns

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis morning, my fingers delighted in playing the chords and melody of a hymn which had been chosen by Sr. Rebecca, whose week it is to lead Office, lector at Mass, and select the music.  In other words, it’s “her week for liturgy.”

She had picked “Crown Him With Many Crowns” for Friday’s Mass, and it is my turn to provide accompaniment on the keyboard in our chapel.  The arrangement I use is in the key of D, which is probably my favorite anyway.

Along with the ease for playing and the beautiful sound, this hymn also has lovely words of praise to our King.  They were, I discovered with a little research, written by an Anglican convert to Catholicism.  Not too long after becoming Catholic in his forties, Mathew Bridges (1800-1894) wrote this magnificent hymn.

Crown him with many crowns,
the Lamb upon his throne.
Hark! how the heavenly anthem drowns
all music but its own.
Awake my soul, and sing
of him who died for thee,
and hail him as thy matchless King
through all eternity. 

This is one of those songs which, for me, lifts the heart.  Its words do inspire my soul to praise and hail our “matchless King” who died for us.

Reflecting on this also inspires me again to live my life in a way that will please Him, rather than myself.  I pray I may do so as a faithful subject of so great a King.

Resources:

One thought on “Crown Him with Many Crowns

  1. Thank you Sister, for once again reminding me who is my King in this life and the next and for also reminding me how I, too should act and respond to Him. So often I feel as though you are my spiritual director. You hold a very special place in my heart. Your faith is your life and I will be trying, probably for the rest of my life, to follow your example. 😇

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a comment