No Time for Baking?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt has been a busy week!  I am looking forward to a quiet evening and the chance to catch up on a bit of reading after all that’s been going on.

Having made many gallons of apple sauce yesterday afternoon and planning ahead for Sunday’s fall/harvest-themed “reminisce” program that we’ll be having with our residents, I had “oatmeal applesauce cookies” on my mind earlier.

I thought they would be the perfect treat to share on this occasion, and I knew that a few of our ladies here at St. Anne’s would love the nostalgic activity around our activity room kitchen.

I was scheduled to get off work at the front desk here by 1:30 p.m. so that I could help with a project we needed to finish for the health department.  I thought that it wouldn’t take too long, and we’d have plenty of time to get the two dozen cookies done well before supper.

The task I was helping ended up taking longer than I imagined it would.  I looked at the time on t he computer as we finished, seeing that it was close to 4 p.m.!

Did I still have time to get all the cookies done before I was due back at the front desk and our ladies went in for supper?  I wasn’t sure.

Realizing, however, that my recipe was a rather simple one, I thought we’d give it a try.  I gathered the ladies who were happy for the chance to help bake again.

Not long after, we had a good supply of aromatic harvest-time cookies cooling on wire racks.

Completing these harvest-time activities so often gives me a deep sense of gratitude, not only for the bounty that has been shared with us, but for the many helping hands that worked together, and for the graces given me to see the task to “a happy end.”

5 thoughts on “No Time for Baking?

  1. Is it possible that I can smell the aroma of applesauce and oatmeal cookies emitted from this essay? It’s lucky that my apartment is far away from your kitchen, Sister, because I would be first in line to test the results of your labor. Thanks again, for all you do.

    Like

  2. Way to go, Sr. Christine! You ‘went for it’ and the Lord provided the hands and minutes and graces.
    This morning I was Blessed to see your sister “Sisters” at the First Choice Walk for Life in Rugby. All the walkers had a wonderful time walking and chatting and enjoying the lovely autumn morning.
    Hope you got your quiet evening with some reading…

    Like

  3. Sister, would you mind passing along your applesauce & oatmeal cookie recipe? They look more biscuit-like, and just what an old neighbor lady used to make… She’d often call to me as I walked the mile uphill from the bus stop, handing me a couple cookies to “tide me over” until I reached home. Oh what warm and sweet memories you stirred up! Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

