Blossoms, and Breezes, and Lilacs, Oh My!

I love this time of year!!!

cherryblossomsThe trees with their white or pink blossoms, the gentle breezes that tease at one’s hair and skin, and – my favorite – the lilacs!

Yesterday afternoon, I biked over to the grocery store to pick up stamps for Sr. Rebecca, potatoes for our main kitchen, and bananas for Sr. Elaine.  I don’t think much more would have safely fit in my bike basket.  As it was, my steering was affected by the weight of the purchases.

I was more than happy for the outing, however.  Along with the good of being able to help others, I appreciated the pleasures of the outdoors on a gorgeous May afternoon.  There were so many natural beauties which I passed as I rode along.

It surely is great to be alive on such a day!  Few other things in life direct my heart upward in gratitude as effectively as the gift of a beautiful spring day!

lilacs20against20white20apples20and20fence20top20horTo top it all off, when I walked home after a tiring day, my nose was greeted with another gift.  The scent of lilacs (my favorite flowers with sentimental memory value) greeted my nostrils.  It was too dark to see the source of the smell, but it was unmistakably lilacs, a sweet little gift to me as I hastened toward the convent for a much-anticipated appointment with my pillow.

2 thoughts on “Blossoms, and Breezes, and Lilacs, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

