“Behold, I am with you always…”

This morning’s Communion antiphon contained a message which, to me, is crucial.  Taken from Jesus’ words in Matthew 28:20, it reminds us of His promise to be “with [us] always, even to the end of the age.”

17505056_1452496018123615_9110413917490671142_oIn the characteristic Easter fashion, it closes with an “alleluia.”

When Easter comes, we tend to be a bit out of practice regarding the “A-word,” having abstained from it for 40 days.  When we pray the introductory part of our evening office, which contains an Alleluia, there is occasionally a bit of a pause before we remember that we are not in Lent anymore; we should be saying “alleluia” again!

As a follow up on today’s consoling communion verse, the “alleluia” is very appropriate. It is fitting that Jesus’ promise to be with us be followed by this ancient ejaculation which means “God be praised.”   His presence, indeed, is a great gift which merits our praise.

I might take Christ’s words of promised presence as an answer to prayer.  To me, it is so important that Christ be with me each day.  As I face challenging situations of varying types, I turn to Him, seeking His presence, guidance, and support.

Recently, in fact, I’ve found myself praying for His presence, feeling that this is really all I need.  As I do so, however, I realize that He is already with me.

Alleluia!

Sr. Christina M. Neumann, OSF

One thought on ““Behold, I am with you always…”

Leave a Reply

