Que Sera Sera

P1010031“When I was a little girl” we sang this song in our school music concert.  My younger sister and I, then, acquired the habit of dancing as we sang it, twirling at the words: “Que sera sera.”

I don’t know what ever impelled us to do this, but the memory remains with me to this day, especially due to recent circumstances…

Last fall, Sr. Jean Louise had invited me to join her and Sr. M. Ruth in Bismarck toward the end of March for the University of Mary’s second annual “vocations jamboree.”

With encouragement from my supervisor and superior, I was eager to go!  Surely, there would be someone coming from Grand Forks.  The matter was set aside.

As the date got closer, I looked into the matter, trying to see if anyone was coming from “the Valley” with whom I could catch a ride.  (Due to a vision impairment, I’m unable to drive.)

As the date drew nearer, I found that there was only one registrant coming from Grand Forks, and his schedule did not fit my needs.  However, one of our Sisters from Hankinson was tentatively thinking of attending.  I could ride with her, if I could catch a ride to Fargo to meet her (and a ride back again).

When you can’t drive, you end up being a bit resourceful.  I found someone I know who was planning a trip down there Friday morning!  Yeah – she would be happy to have me ride with her!

Another lady who comes to chapel here was planning a trip to Fargo for Saturday.  I could hook up with her on the way back.

Things were shaping up that maybe I could go to this gathering after all!

To make a long story short, throughout the course of the day and evening yesterday, both of these rides fell through.

From one hour to the next, I didn’t know whether I was staying or going.  In the end, the Sister from Hankinson had to cancel her plans as well.

With rapidly changing plans, I could be likened to that little girl twirling around to the words of the beloved song. “Que sera sera; whatever will be will be” is very apropos.

In a way, although I had really wanted to go, I was happier once things were settled.  I remember, too, that “all things work for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose,” as St. Paul wrote to the Romans (8:28).

2 thoughts on “Que Sera Sera

  1. A song from my childhood started playing in my mind, as I read this.
    The words are: “What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear. What a privilege to carry, everything to God in prayer.”
    “Oh, what peace we often forfeit. Oh, what needless pain we bear. All because we do not carry, everything to God in prayer.”

    To me, this refers to the smaller, sometimes overlooked sins like worry and impatience that we are all guilty of at one time or another. This type of worry often gives rise to restlessness and insecurity. But, these are all things we can relinquish, through our commitment to faith and prayer.

    Thank you, Sister Christina, for reminding us that ‘what will be’ is out of our hands and in the hands of God.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

