“Contemplating Christ With Mary”

frpeytonrosarywebI got done mixing cookies together with two of our resident ladies before lunch this morning.  (They’re now baked and awaiting blissful consumption by our residents.)

This being done, I had twenty minutes before I was needed at the front desk.  I took advantage of this little window of time and stepped into chapel: I was anticipating the likelihood of needing to work Saturday night and still had about an hour of reading yet for the week.  (We are supposed to devote two hours a week to spiritual reading, according to our directives.)

I figured it would be wise to get as much done ahead of time as possible rather than needing to squeeze it in before working nights.

Unfortunately, I am in between books right now.  I hadn’t made it home to bring over another library book yet.  Thankfully, we have a nice collection of books for visitors to read in our Adoration chapel, so I made my way to the bookshelf to find something quick.

I happened to see St. John Paul II’s apostolic letter, Rosarium Virginis Mariae, and grabbed it.  I remember when it came out and the new luminous mysteries were added.

A phrase from the letter, which I remembered hearing or reading before, is “to contemplate with Mary the face of Christ.”  According to John Paul II, the rosary is nothing other than this.

Although sometimes people seem to rush through the rosary, the document encourages a “quiet rhythm and a lingering pace.”  I can’t say I always live up to that perfectly, but I hope to.

Our directives also encourage us to meditate upon the Incarnation and the Passion of our Lord.  I find frequent use of the Joyful and the Sorrowful Mysteries is a good way to do this, contemplating Christ’s face with Mary, as the recent Pope encourages us to do.

One thought on ““Contemplating Christ With Mary”

Leave a Reply

