Premonitions

p1010009I’ve worked a number of night shifts here at St. Anne’s over the past few years.  Usually, however, it is at last minute notice.

In fact, if I hear the phone ring between 9:45 and 10:15 p.m., I’ve come to instinctively cringe, fearing one of the two scheduled night aides would not be making it in; this would leave me to work the night shift.

Actually, I don’t mind it too much.  I kind of enjoy the work, and am happy to help where I can.

This being called upon to work nights does not happen terribly often, maybe a dozen times a year.

This week, we realized that we would need someone to fill in for a worker this weekend (Fri.-Sun.).  Thankfully, two other staff are able to pick up Saturday and Sunday.  However, we were unable to find someone for Friday night.

Thus it is that I’ve known since early this week that I would be working tonight.  For me, it is really strange to have this “premonition,” to be able to actually plan ahead for my sleep schedule.

There are a number of other things happening at this time.  When I woke up this morning, I didn’t know if I’d be helping with bingo, for example.  It should prove to be an interesting 24 hours.

This morning’s responsorial psalm (27) served as a good reminder to me, amidst my crazy schedule, that no matter what happens, “the LORD is my life’s refuge [and He will conceal me in the shelter of his tent.”  It further inspires me with reminders that He is my light and my salvation I should trust Him and not fear.  The first reading (Hebrews 3) also beautifully points out: “The Lord is my helper, and I will not be afraid.  What can anyone do to me?”

Even with premonitions of an interesting night to come, I have this consolation to fall back upon.

Leave a Reply

