Yes, Mother!

yes-mother-with-love-hearts

In case you’re new to this blog, I’m Sr. Christina.  I work at St. Anne’s Guest Home, a senior living facility in Grand Forks, North Dakota.  Here, I serve in a variety of capacities, including as a receptionist, sacristan, aide, and communications assistant.

That being said…

Recently, I was helping one of our residents who is needing some extra care lately after a bout with the flu.  Helping her dress and looking over her needs, she commented to me that I reminded her of a mother.

At St. Anne’s, we love to tease with each other.  Humor is the spice of life, they say.  Somehow, this lady’s comment  led to her jokingly  using the phrase: “Yes, mother” in a sassy voice.  It has become a joke between us, and I have come to call her “daughter.”

This use of the word ‘mother’ could not fail to remind me of my studies when I was first entering religious life.  I had learned that religious sisters are really to be spiritual mothers.  Surrounded by people who are double my age, I do not usually think of myself as a mother, though.

I had actually recently explained this concept of spiritual motherhood briefly to one of my co-workers who wondered if the sacrifice of not having one’s own children was difficult.

Sr. Elaine, who also works here, has been known to comment on this as well.  She has joked that when she retires she’ll have some prestigious titles relating to her work here, not least among which is simply “MOM.”  Our residents love to come to her with their needs and problems.

Leave a Reply

