Nature’s Best Mop Cleaner: a lesson learned as a postulant

One afternoon recently, I finished my cleaning duties at our convent and took the dust mop I’d been using outside.

“Outside,” you may ask, “why do that?”  The reason is that I was putting into practice a lesson I learned some years back when I was a postulant in Hankinson, North Dakota.

Although I grew up in Minnesota, surrounded by snow four months out of the year, I had never learned one of the important uses of this white, powdery substance: it serves as an excellent mop cleaner.

Early in my formation in Hankinson, this little trick of cleaning a dust mop in the snow was revealed to me.  (One simply beats the mop out in the snow and shakes the snow out.)

Ever since that time, I have utilized nature’s best mop cleaner when finishing my dust mopping in the winter months.

When spring finally comes and there is no more snow to be found, I’ve been known to lament that “I’ve lost my mop cleaner, now.”

Oh well, that will be a sacrifice I’ll readily make to enjoy some spring weather when it finally comes here to the upper Midwest.

Sr. Christina M. Neumann, OSF

If you’ve enjoyed this article, you might consider sharing it on your social media networks (buttons available below).
5 thoughts on “Nature’s Best Mop Cleaner: a lesson learned as a postulant

  1. Sorry! “un-born” and not “in-born”. Please change it as I cannot from this end.
    May “Our Lady of Knock” be with you always especially at your time of death.

    Brendán & Marie Armstrong

    Like

  2. do you shove the mop into the snow? Let the snow fall over the mop? does it only work for dust mops? how about wet mops?

    get to the point!

    Like

Leave a Reply

