At the End of the Day, I Lost the Rubber

deck-cards

Coming home to our convent about 9 o’clock last night, I greeted Sr. Rebecca with the words: “Well, I lost the rubber.”

In case you’re not familiar with the expression, ‘the rubber’ refers to the tie-breaking game.

I had gone upstairs to get someone down for the nurse and had happened to stop in to say good night to one of our other residents.

Haphazardly, not expecting an affirmative response, I had asked him if he wanted to play cards.  He took me up on my offer, and we met in our atrium for some Crazy Eights.   I won the first game and he the second.  The third game, the rubber, distinguished him as as the winner.

This final episode came after quite a full day, one full of strange twists and turns.

In the morning, I got up and dressed for the day.  Stopping by the kitchen, I picked up the bowl with pumpkin which I was thawing to do some baking.

I went over to St. Anne’s, the facility at which I work.  After bringing the bowl to the kitchenette, I headed into chapel.  I started my duties there and had to deal with a mishap which necessitated laundering the top altar cloth.

However, the morning went on.

By mid-morning, another twist came on my day’s path.  Along with the previously assigned shift of p.m. aide work, I would need to do laundry for our residents as well today, a task with which I am not terribly experienced.

By 10 o’clock, I was upstairs collecting laundry.  I had it sorted and the first loads in the washers by the time I needed to be at the reception desk to give a lunch break to a co-worker.

In the back of my mind, I still had that pumpkin which I had thawed and another prepared ingredient waiting for me.  I would rather get the cookies made this afternoon than have to store the ingredients and put it off for the following day.  My time would be limited then as well.

Along with provided much-relished snacks, I do this baking to provide an enjoyable activity for one of our residents.  She thoroughly enjoys baking, helping with laundry, cleaning, and keeping busy in general.

So it was that yesterday, we were able to get four loads of laundry done and 53 cookies baked.

But the day was not over yet!  I still had all the aide work to do.  Due to complications which will not be discussed here, the aide work took quite a bit longer than usual last night, and I was kept busy until nearly 8 o’clock with that.

After this, I did a little work in the office and headed to chapel.  After finishing night prayer, I found that the nurse was still missing one resident.  I went upstairs to do the recruiting, which brings me back to the beginning of my story with the unexpected card games.

Thus it was that I “lost the rubber.”

3 thoughts on “At the End of the Day, I Lost the Rubber

  1. Sr Christina, you may have lost the rubber, but you found Jesus in the gentleman that needed a distraction to play cards and realize that his mind is sharp! God bless you and everyone at St Anne’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

