What a Friend We Have…

P1010007.JPG

This evening, at table, as we were praying the Angelus before supper, I felt some worries weighing upon me.  I had (and still do for that matter) A LOT of pumpkin to process.  There just don’t seem to be enough days in the week to get everything done this time of year.I didn’t know if and when we’d be able to have Mass tomorrow.  (the Mass schedule has become my responsibility.)

Before I let my worries carry me off too far, words from a song we had used at Bible study this morning came back to admonish me:

What a friend we have in Jesus,
all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit,
O what needless pain we bear,
all because we do not carry
everything to God in prayer.

In this ecumenical Bible study, which I lead for our residents, we use a variety of hymns from both Catholic and protestant faith traditions.  I have printed several on overhead transparencies.  It is neat to sing along with our residents.  I’ve even shared a few I knew from our youth group back home.  They have caught on quite nicely

The above-mentioned hymn, which I was not familiar with growing up, really has a lot to tell us.  It spoke to me tonight.

Rather than worrying about how I was going to get all the pumpkin cut and cooked up and what was going to happen regarding tomorrow’s Mass, I should be simply bringing it to Jesus.

~ ~ ~

As it turns out, I found a priest for tomorrow’s Mass and one of our cooks is interested in taking some of the pumpkin off my hands.

8 thoughts on “What a Friend We Have…

  1. That’s good news–I sometimes do the same thing-worry and worry about something and finally remember to ask our friend and brother, Jesus, for help and he takes care of it. Thanks for the reminder! God bless you. Barb

    Like

    • God bless you too! Thanks.

      On Wed, Nov 2, 2016 at 7:48 AM, Our Franciscan Fiat wrote:

      > blanger@gra.midco.net commented: “That’s good news–I sometimes do the > same thing-worry and worry about something and finally remember to ask our > friend and brother, Jesus, for help and he takes care of it. Thanks for the > reminder! God bless you. Barb” >

      Like

  2. It reminds me of breathing….There are times I thank God for helping me breath each day…for moments come when everything seem difficult but thanks to God loving me and taking care of my heart I feel I am not alone someone is with me making sure I am ok.That’s what makes it possible to live each day,not give up,keep faith-hope-charity also the wonderful reminder of God’s Love for me shows me the way ….toward heaven where life will be all smiles.

    Like

  3. Beth and I could help you process the pumpkin, if it is 2:00pm or later (must get our schooling done first). You need not be always right there the whole time, (we know how you are pulled away for various “emergencies & interruptions”) as we have processed pumpkin many times. Just bark some orders and we’ll get to it! We could bring our vacuum seal, if you wish (the pumpkin will stay fresh in the freezer for 2 years!)

    Like

  4. Good words, Sr. Christine. Yes, sometimes it is our worry that stifles the Lord from working through our creativity. Glad things worked out for good for you all.

    Like

  5. I was to read this today. I loved this song groeing up as a child sometimes we don’t realize how powerful this song is.
    I liked.what Sr Christina’s comments about how much can we put in one day. Sometimes we forget to lift it up. Thank u

    Like

Leave a Reply

