What a Ding-a-Ling!

img_0896This morning, I came into chapel before Mass, grabbed the bell I use from its place in the back cabinet, and took a seat in one of the pews.

Rather than put it on the ledge of the pew in front of me, as I usually do, for some reason today, I set it on the pew cushion itself.

A little while later, I had to get up to take care of some last minute detail in the sacristy.  I came back to the body of the chapel and took a seat.  Mass was starting, but where was my bell?  I must have left it in my original seat, but which was that?

Since I left, the seats had filled in a bit.  I scanned the pews, to no avail.  I could not find the bell.  We have other bells, but they are way up in the bottom cabinet in the sacristy.  I was not about to make a scene and go up to get another.

I just let it go…I figured there would be no bell-ringing today during the Eucharistic prayer to serve as a wake up call and sign of reverence.  There wasn’t much I could do.

I was also the reader at this Mass, since this is “my week for liturgy,” as we say.  (We take turns leading Office, picking hymns and reading for Mass.)  When I returned from leading the petitions, I ended up in yet another pew.  What a ding-a-ling I was!

I had, by this time, given up on the possibility of having a bell at this Mass.  I took part in the preface dialog and sang along with the “Holy, Holy.”  When it came time for the Consecration, boy was I in for a surprise!

A bell was rung by the gentleman sitting in front of me.  THERE was the bell!

That must have been my original seat.  I was humored, but thankful that he had taken the initiative to enhance our celebration of Mass by ringing it, since this ding-a-ling (me) had lost it.

2 thoughts on “What a Ding-a-Ling!

  1. I get so much joy reading Sister Christina’s stories. I miss the co-celebrations at the Sister’s chapel at St Anne’s.
    It brings up the special times I had praying at St Anne’s. Afterwards the companionship, the evening prayers. It’s one of my favorite memories I cherish at St Anne’s. Reading Sr Christina’s story stirred those special memories. God bless you all!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

