Let the Weak Say ‘I am Strong.’

31jqgtnqqwl-_ac_ul320_sr212320_This morning at Bible Study (which I hold each Tuesday for our residents), I again found myself to be the recipient of a lesson along with the others who gathered.

Our discussion, based on the readings from last Sunday, served to reminder and inspiration for my own spiritual journey.

In reflecting on the psalms we read (117-18), one resident simply yet poignantly pointed out that it was all about thanksgiving.  We expounded on this and pointed out our dependence upon God for everything.

I chose to follow up on this point of thanksgiving with the choice for our closing song.  It was one I learned as a child from tapes my mom used to play.  It is one that I have printed on an overhead transparency.

The words of this beautiful song were also especially pertinent to me as I am feeling my own weakness in my efforts to live as I feel I ought.  (Sometimes, just when we feel like we’re making progress, our weakness hits us again.)

Below are the lyrics and a video.  I hope they touch and inspire you as they do me.

Give thanks with a grateful heart
Give thanks to the Holy One
Give thanks because He’s given Jesus Christ, His Son
And now let the weak say, “I am strong”
Let the poor say, “I am rich
Because of what the Lord has done for us”
2 thoughts on “Let the Weak Say ‘I am Strong.’

  1. I have this on CD and must say that I never tire of hearing it, even when my family hints that 25 times in one day is just too much for them to bear! Give thanks, because He has given Jesus Christ, His Son! Thank you for this post – a reminder that God loves us with a merciful and boundless love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

