“Lord, On the Day I Called for Help, You Answered Me.”

IMG_0552Late this morning, I went into chapel to make preparations for tomorrow’s Mass.  Yes!  We are having Mass!  Earlier today, I wasn’t so sure.

As the main sacristan here, I also am responsible for scheduling priests to offer the Holy Sacrifice in our St. Anne’s Chapel.  We are so grateful to all those who make this a daily opportunity for our residents, as well for as the visitors who often come.

During the several years that I have had this role, the times we have been without a priest have been scarce, and we have never been without Sunday Mass. I feared this record was coming to an end this weekend, however.  Try as I might, I had not been able to find a priest available to help.

I’ll admit, I wasn’t too faithful in fulfilling the instructions found in Matthew 6:25: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life…”  It’s ironic that just last night I mentioned this passage to on of my Sisters, half teasingly, when she was concerned about storms.

I, myself, had been “praying up a storm” during the last 24 hours, concerned about what we were going to do to enable our residents to participate in the Sunday liturgy.  I was definitely “calling for help” as tomorrow’s psalm refrain says.

The truth of this psalm struck me as I glanced over the words in preparation for my role in the morrow’s liturgy.

My “cal[l]s for help” had truly been answered.  I needn’t have worried.  That’s easier said than done, though.

Sr. Christina M. Neumann

One thought on ““Lord, On the Day I Called for Help, You Answered Me.”

  1. We all do have a tendency to worry now and then. St. Pio says, “pray and don”t worry.”. The Lord is worthy of our trust. What a great and mighty God we have! Blessed be God forever!

    Like

Leave a Reply

