Like Mary, the first Missionary

In honor of today’s feast of the Visitation, I thought I would re-post this…Between all the other many tasks of this day, I haven’t afforded to think about anything else to write on, anyway.

Our Franciscan Fiat

I don’t know where I first heard it, but I know Our Blessed Mother Mary has been referred to as ‘the first missionary,’ having brought Jesus to Elizabeth and John the Baptist while He was still inside her.

r6-2I was reluctantly preparing to lead the weekly ecumenical service for our protestant residents (here at St. Anne’s Guest Home) Saturday morning.  The regular leader is out of town for two weeks and there weren’t a lot of other people jumping at the chance to take over in his absence.  Thankfully, he had prepared the ‘curriculum,’ for lack of a better word, ahead of time.  I don’t feel very comfortable doing this but didn’t want to have it fall on Sr. Elaine, who has more than enough on her plate already.

As I glanced over the chosen gospel reading for Saturday services, that of Mary’s Visitation to Elizabeth, I remembered Mary’s…

View original post 153 more words

Leave a Reply

