Fragrance Prayer

trasfiguresmallIn preparing for our upcoming Bible Study, Cardinal Newman’s ‘Fragrance Prayer’ came to mind.  The lesson is on this Sunday’s readings, including the gospel about the Transfiguration.

We will be doing a little craft, taking a silhouette of Jesus cut from construction paper to make a sun catcher with tissue paper behind it.  I will have our residents tape or staple this beautiful, little prayer beneath it.

I wanted to share the prayer here as well:

Dear Jesus,

help me to spread your fragrance everywhere I go;

Flood my soul with your spirit and life;

Penetrate and possess my whole being

so completely that all my life may be
only a radiance of yours;

Shine through me and be so in me
That everyone with whom I come into contact

May feel your presence within me.

Let them look up and see no longer me—
but only Jesus.

Stay with me and then I shall begin
to shine as You shine,

So to shine as to be a light to others;

The light, O Jesus, will be all from You;

none of it will be mine;
It will be you,

shining on others through me.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

