Doing All Right?

IMG_0894Do you ever wonder: “Am I doing all right?  Is there something I should be doing different?  I guess we all sin, we all make mistakes, so the answer to the second question would be a ‘yes.’

However, as disconcerting as we all may be to ourselves at times, I found comfort today in the words I read from our Franciscan Rule as I devoted a little time to spiritual reading.

The passage that touched me was: “Let them put aside all attachment as well as every care and worry.  Let them only be concerned to serve, love, adore, and honor the Lord God, as best they can, with singleheartedness and purity of intention. ”

If we are single-hearted, serving, adoring, and honoring the Lord God “as best as we can,” we can truly put aside “every care and worry,” knowing we are on the right track.

Amidst the busyness of life, especially this time of year, I pray I may keep my eyes on our Lord, knowing that if I am doing so, attentive to the above passage, I need not worry or be anxious that I’m not ‘doing all right.’

Maybe I’ll write the passage up and tape it on my medicine cabinet as a reminder, to keep me ‘on the right track.’

Sr. Christina M. Neumann

2 thoughts on “Doing All Right?

  1. Excellent comment. I have heard people say that I am “happy go lucky”, implying that I am cheerful and don’t worry about what might happen. As much as I’d like that to be the honest truth, it isn’t. I have to admit that I have given advice to others by saying that “God doesn’t want us to worry. He wants us to put our trust in Him”. I need to start and follow my own advice! I may not show it outwardly but, I do worry, so I need to give up that selfishness (yes, that’s really what it amounts to) and put my trust in Him as well. He only wants the best for us. I think I may write that out and put it up in my apartment as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

