“…but she, from her poverty, has contributed all she had, her whole livelihood”

handsSr. Christina M. Neumann, OSF                        Certain Gospel passages I just love for their ability to draw me in. I can put myself in the scene and imagine myself doing what the individuals involved did. These passages inspire me to do, on a spiritual level, what the individual in the story did physically.

Today’s account of the poor widow is such a story.  When meditating on the daily scriptures this morning, the words: “but she, from her poverty, has contributed all she had, her whole livelihood”” struck me.  These are the words our Lord spoke to his disciples about the widow who contributed but two small coins to the temple collection.

It made me think of my life as a religious sister.  At my profession of vows, I said, in a sense, “I give you all that I have, my whole livelihood, my whole self.”  This morning, spending time before the Blessed Sacrament, I felt an invitation to renew this in my daily life.

Our giving of self is not just a one-time thing; it is to be every day, in a thousand different situations.  It reminded me of the words of my Confirmation Saint, the Little Flower St. Therese.  She once wrote: “I do not want to be a saint by halves.”

These sentiments resound in my heart as well.  In everything I do, whether answering the phone, helping residents, or writing a blog post, I want to love Jesus with a whole heart, “contributing all” that I am and have.

Holy Spirit, please help me to remember and to be faithful to this resolution.  Amen.

2 thoughts on ““…but she, from her poverty, has contributed all she had, her whole livelihood”

  1. Thank you very much for this one, Sister Christina. I think it is most beautiful, too, and inspiring. God’s providence is always with us, but when we risk all and trust Him, we open ourselves to the greater abundance of His designs for us. May we both have the grace to remember these meditations, as you prayed at the end of yours. SSMB

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

