Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place my trust in you

Sacred Heart Statue in Sacred Heart Chapel at St. Francis Convent in Hankinson

Sacred Heart Chapel at St. Francis Convent

By Sister Jean Louise, OSF    ndfranciscan@yahoo.com

On one wall in every room of my childhood home there was a picture of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.  A lovely statue stood front & center (actually in front of the left aisle of pews) in our local parish, St. Lawrence Church.  I just took it for granted…  It was there! Always.

When I grew to be ‘at home’ at the convent I began to see similar pictures everywhere.  Although I may not have learned much about it in formal education, I knew it revealed God’s love for me.  Indeed that was the ticket!    Over the years, I have come to a deeper appreciation of this love and the mercy offered for sinners (me) through the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

When a college friend spoke about ‘cafeteria Catholics’ choosing what they want to believe about the faith, I knew that the love of Christ as visualized in the Sacred Heart of Jesus was not one of the choices; it was a given!!!

The Church celebrates this love with a special feast this Friday.  Many devotional prayers honor Jesus, our Universal King, our Fountain of every Blessing, and Worthy of All Praise!   One of the most beautiful prayers is the Litany of the Sacred Heart which the faithful traditionally pray every First Friday of the month.

In proclaiming a “Year of Mercy” (starting Dec. 8), Pope Francis is highlighting this deep, intimate, caring love of Jesus for each person created by God.  Isn’t the devotion known these days as the “Divine Mercy” another way of drawing attention to the love of the Sacred Heart of Jesus for his people?

~ Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us! ~

One thought on “Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place my trust in you

Leave a Reply

