“Praise and bless my Lord, and give thanks” for Spring-time!

Rock Garden at St. Francis Retreat Center

Rock Garden at St. Francis Retreat Center

Sr. Christina M. Neumann

In honor of this feast day (St. Joseph the Worker), I was thinking of reflecting on the gift of work and its place in our life, but this post took a bit of a different turn.

Early this morning, I stepped outside into surroundings already penetrated by daylight.  How good it was to have spring, with its earlier sunrises!  Needed rain had freshened the landscape, and new life was evident all around me.  The gratitude I felt for the beauty of God’s creation brings to my mind St. Francis’ “Canticle of the Creatures,” which was popularized by the modern “hymn” Canticle of the Sun.  (I remember the song bringing me to dancing as a child.)

Here, I’d like to share a few stanza’s of St. Francis’ grateful song:

Be praised, my Lord, through all Your creatures,
especially through my lord Brother Sun,
who brings the day; and You give light through him.
And he is beautiful and radiant in all his splendor!
Of You, Most High, he bears the likeness.

Be praised, my Lord, through Sister Moon and the stars;
in the heavens You have made them bright, precious and beautiful.

Be praised, my Lord, through Brothers Wind and Air,
and clouds and storms, and all the weather,
through which You give Your creatures sustenance.

The beauty of springtime really can help motivate the heart to praise and thanksgiving.  Also, elements of this beautiful season can be used to remind us of deeper realities; I think of a cleansing, life-giving rain and new green plant life.

“Praise and bless my Lord, and give thanks,
and serve Him with great humility.”

2 thoughts on ““Praise and bless my Lord, and give thanks” for Spring-time!

  1. Beautiful. I can picture St. Francis dancing giving praise and thanks to our Lord. I can also picture lots of others, including you, Sr. Christina, dancing to give praise. What a joyful thought.

    Like

  2. How beautifully written! As I read this blog I felt I could almost sense the clean freshness of the day, the morning sunrise, the quiet gentleness of this new day. A peace and deep joy of being alive and feeling God’s love so tenderly and I thought, “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord…” Nice job Sr. Christina!

    Like

Leave a Reply

