Source & Summit

You may well have heard the now-familiar quote from the Catechism that the Eucharist is the “source and summit of the Christian life” (CCC 1324).  Here I would like to reflect on how this has been true for my vocational journey.

From the very beginning, Christ in the Eucharist has been central, from my first experience of a call to my investigating various religious communities.  I gratefully reflect that He has been my guide along the path to where I am today.

A major part in my pursuing our particular community was that I saw that the Sisters had devotion to Our Lord in the Blessed Sacrament and that this was part of their daily prayer life.

Now, serving at St. Anne’s Guest Home, I am blessed with access to a chapel where we have Exposition of the Most Blessed Sacrament throughout the week.  I must say that when I go home to visit family and friends, I do miss having Christ’s Eucharistic presence there, though He is with us spiritually.

Picture1

~ ~ ~

One of the many rich blessings I find in our Religious Life is the closeness it provides (every day) to Christ in the Eucharist.  I am so grateful!

2 thoughts on “Source & Summit

  1. I totally agree. Even if one has a particular devotion to a saint, our Blessed Mother or the cross, all of these lead back to Jesus who is the Blessed Sacrament itself, body, blood, soul, and divinity!⛪️🙏

    Like

Leave a Reply

